The Shadelands Ranch Museum is a time capsule on the Walnut Creek of the turn of the 20th century, a site in the National Register of Historic Squares. The museum was originally completed in 1903 by Hiram Penniman, the founders of early Walnut Creek who, in 1850, came to Walnut Creek to own some 500 acres of fruit and nut trees in Ygnacio Valley.
Penniman and Carrie Morris, his second wife, raised four girls, two daughters and two sisters. In order to ensure his unmarried daughter, Mary, the big Redwood-framed Colonial Revival House was designed by Penniman on the property. A 1903 redwood-framed Colonial Revival home, which now display various historic objects, many of which belonged to the Pennimans, is the principal house on Shadelands Ranch grounds. The collections of old newspapers, photos and government records also include a rich archive of Contra Costa and the history of Creek Walnut. On Wednesdays from 13:00, Sherwood Burgess Room is open. Towards 16 p.m. For people who want to do local history work.
The museum, which is part of the City of Walnut Creek, is part of the National Register of Historic Places and run by the Society through the fund raising of the company and the volunteer corps. Since early November to the first Sunday of February, the Museum is closed every year. The Society organizes public events during the annual break around the holiday and conducts routine maintenance every January.
This adorable spot is conveniently located near some of Danville’s other places of interest. Make sure to check them out on your next visit:
Museum of the San Ramon Valley
Eugene O’Neill National Historic Site
The Discovery Center
Lindsay Wildlife Experience
After visiting these lovely spots make sure to stop by and say “Hello” to us at our downtown Danville location, DPG Pavers Danville Location on 4115 Blackhawk Plaza Circle!